Week 77 – The Life

What is up everybody!?! How is everything going? Things are going fantastic here in the great Golden State!

This week seemed to fly by. It is so crazy to think that time is going by so fast! I know I say it a lot but the past year and a half has flown by. I had the opportunity to go on exchanges with Elder Owens! There is a picture of him below. It was a pretty good time with him. He is a funny person and will talk your ear off! We taught some great lessons to different individuals. We accidentally met a less active member named Cecil James. We also got a church headquarters referral for a lady named Mercedes. We taught her and him. It is amazing the places that God directs us. We are in an area for a reason. He will guide us and direct us to the people we need to see!

Yesterday I had the opportunity to teach the Gospel Principles class. I taught about, “The Gifts of the Spirit.” I love reading about all of the gifts that we can receive. It talks about some of the gifts in D&C 46. There are so many gifts that we can receive if we will open our hearts and live worthy enough to receive them. One of my favorite gifts to read about was the gift of tongues. It is so real and so amazing. Even though I am here in California speaking English, I have seen the gift of tongues help me in the work. When someone speaks to us in Spanish, it is amazing that we can usually understand them. Sometimes we know what to say back to them in Spanish and sometimes we don’t. It is just amazing!

Elder Wray and I got to go to Sonora this week and drop off packages! It is always a lot of fun to go to Sonora. We got to have a companion study with the Elders up there then come back. It is about an hour and a half drive up there! We aren’t too far from the Nevada border, which is super crazy! Sonora is up in the mountains and is a little tourist town.

The scripture for this week is 2 Nephi 4:16-35. We are having a zone conference this week and 2 Nephi 4 is part of the training. I just love this chapter but especially these verses. Sometimes we want to serve the Lord with all of our heart but feel weighed down by our weaknesses. We need to repent and move forward. Just keep pushing forward! I love this gospel and the things it teaches us! I know it is the one TRUE church on the earth today! I love you all and hope you have a wonderful week!

Love,
Elder Pope

Elder Owens!
SAM_2041
The things you find in California…
SAM_1965

Leave a comment