Week 76 – Sister Pope Comes Home?

Dear Family and Friends,

This week was a pretty good week! It was my birthday so that was pretty fun! We partied it up with some members and had a ton of fun! It is so crazy to think that it is almost July! Time has gone by so fast here on the mission. Before you know it, I will be home! CRAZY!

I just wanted to give a shout out to some of my good friends, Elder Dallin Smuin and Elder Parker Freeman! Man, those two are super awesome! It is crazy to think that this is the last week on their mission, for both of them! I am so grateful for both of them and their great example to me! They are both going to do great things in this world!

Not a whole lot happened this week. It was over 100 degrees each day and it is supposed to be about 95 this whole week. It is so crazy when we come home at night and it is still 95 degrees outside! I feel like I am going to melt here but it’s all good! So many people are more receptive to let us into their homes and give us water when it is super hot outside. It is great for us! We love getting to meet new people and share the gospel with them! We were able to pick up a few new potential investigators this week! We were just knocking doors around some houses we had planned and they are super awesome people! We have a few appointments with them this week.

Well Jordi, our recent convert, has been doing really well. The Spanish Sisters just started teaching his family this last week. They were really standoffish with us but I guess when you throw Sisters their way they are receptive. I don’t know what it is but Sister missionaries can get into so many more houses then we can! The two Spanish Hermanas here are super awesome! One is actually from Alpine, UT. Her name is Hermana Law. Or, I guess her real name is Afton Law and the other one is Hermana Trejo. They are super awesome Hermanas! We are having dinner with Jordi’s family tomorrow night so we are excited to talk with them in the very little Spanish we do know.

It has been so crazy to think that I only have six months left on my mission! I have grown so much here! A mission has been one of the hardest things I have done and I am so grateful for trials. Sometimes I just want to give up but there are things that we have to go through so we can learn from them. There is a quote that I love which says, “Keep trying. Keep trusting. Keep growing. Heaven will be cheering you on today, tomorrow, and forever.” -Elder Holland. There are times when God will cut us down so we can come back even stronger. We have a part member family that is really into gardening. We visited them yesterday and they were cutting back some of their plants. They were cutting the ones that didn’t have flowers. They kept the ones that did have flowers. It is so all of the nutrients will go to the ones that are about to flower instead of going to the ones that don’t need it. Sometimes God will cut us down in certain parts of our lives so we can become stronger! I have a testimony of this and know that God knows all. There are just some things that we won’t understand here on the earth. I love the scripture Jacob 4:8. It says, “Behold, great and marvelous are the works of the Lord. How unsearchable are the depths of the mysteries of him; and it is impossible that man should find out all his ways. And no man knoweth of his ways save it be revealed unto him; wherefore, brethren, despise not the revelations of God.” I love you and hope you have a wonderful week!

Love,
Elder Pope

We took a picture after district meeting on Thursday. Elder Wade, Elder Wray, and I are the three who aren’t normal, as you can tell!
SAM_2031
The sunset was super cool this week! At this time of the night it was about 95 degrees.
SAM_1981
Elder Wray and I with our glow-in-the-dark ties. Thanks, Mom!
SAM_1994
This is Kevin. He took us for a short ride in his Kushman. Have any of you ever heard of one before? Kevin is super funny! He is one of our member’s brothers!
P1010774

Leave a Reply

