Week 70 – Happy Mother’s Day!

Dear Family and Friends,

Happy Mother’s Day! I am so grateful for all of the wonderful mothers and women that are in the world right now. I am so blessed to have such a wonderful Mother, who I love so much! She is such an amazing example to me and to all the people around her. I am so blessed to have her in my life. I love my Mrs. Pope, as everyone knows her! One of my favorite hymns to listen to is Hymn #309 (notice how I said listen to it and not sing it…haha!):

1. As sisters in Zion, we’ll all work together;
The blessings of God on our labors we’ll seek.
We’ll build up his kingdom with earnest endeavor;
We’ll comfort the weary and strengthen the weak.

2. The errand of angels is given to women;
And this is a gift that, as sisters, we claim:
To do whatsoever is gentle and human,
To cheer and to bless in humanity’s name.

3. How vast is our purpose, how broad is our mission,
If we but fulfill it in spirit and deed.
Oh, naught but the Spirit’s divinest tuition
Can give us the wisdom to truly succeed.

My mom is the definition of this song. Every time I think of it I think of her and all of the amazing things that she has done.

My new companion’s name is Elder Wray. He is super awesome and the Riverbank Ward is super awesome! The members here are great and we have a bunch of investigators. We had four investigators at church yesterday.

One thing that I have really loved and learned while I have been on my mission is that the Lord places people in your path. We were biking around visiting people on my second day in the area. There was a kid out standing by a canal. We stopped and talked with him about the church. He said he was out doing a senior project and wanted us to be a part of it. We got to take the survey he had and it was amazing. He really loved the message that we shared and invited us back. We talked with him about the Book of Mormon and how it is the most important book in the world. He loves it. His name is Jordi. He came to church with us yesterday and he told us he knows the Book of Mormon is true! It is amazing what that book can do. He hasn’t read a whole lot of it yet but he just knows it is true. I love the Book of Mormon and I know without a doubt that it is true!

Sorry but there isn’t going to be a scripture of the week this week. We have to go and help the missionaries in Oakdale move out of their apartment. Have a great week! I love you all so much and am thankful for all that you do!

Love,
Elder Pope

This is our new district! Everyone is tons of fun and I am excited to be here!
SAM_1862
A lane in Modesto that we found. Good old Elder Lane!
SAM_1864
This is my companion, Elder Wray. He is super awesome!
SAM_1868

Leave a Reply

