Week 63 – Cafe Rio is the Bomb!

What up everyone? I hope you all had a wonderful week! This week was a great week! Elder Silva and I just found out that we will both be staying here in the Northland Ward in Manteca! It will be an awesome transfer together again! I love it here and know that this is where the Lord wants me to be at this time in my life! It is sad though because Elder Schultz and Elder Perry are leaving and going to Lodi. We are getting two new missionaries in the ward, so that will be interesting!

Something that was super cool is that we got to go to Stockton on Thursday! My companion had a doctors appointment so before his appointment we got to go to the one and only Cafe Rio! That location is the only one in our mission. We had a member take us and it was wonderful! I have missed Cafe Rio so much! Below is a picture of me with the receipt. I was scared to take a picture of the food while we were in there. It was also awesome because there were people there who are from a different ward and we had the opportunity to talk to them. I love being a missionary and being able to talk to so many different people!

We went on exchanges this week. I went with Elder Perry and it was awesome! Elder Perry and I came out together and we have now been serving around one another for almost a year but he is going to a new area this transfer. We had a blast being together though! We had a team up with James Weeden that went pretty well! We were able to visit a lot of our potential investigators! James is a super funny member and an awesome team up!

This week we did some awesome service! We helped out at Second Harvest on Tuesday and it was a blast! There are a few pictures below that show how much fun we really have at service! We also helped out at the Methodist Church on Friday. That was super awesome!

On the bright side – General Conference is next week! I am looking forward to watching it again! I can’t believe this will be the third General Conference that happens on my mission. I also can’t believe that this transfer is Easter already! Time seems to be going by super fast! It was exactly a year ago when Ester Avina, one of the recent converts in our ward in Turlock, passed away. How grateful I am for the Plan of Salvation and to know how wonderful this gospel truly is! I love my Savior Jesus Christ and know that we can be resurrected and receive a perfect, immortal body!

Our investigator, Marianne, has really been struggling with her health. She is the lady who weighs 80 pounds. He situation is super sad! We have been helping her clean her house when her husband is home and just be there to comfort her. It is super sad because the doctors don’t know what is wrong with her. She is a wonderful lady! We have also been teaching James. He is awesome and we are getting slow progression. But just remember, slowly but surely!

The scripture for this week is Matthew 25:1-13. I think this is the scripture. I was reading about it in Jesus the Christ this morning during my studies. I just love parables! This is a parable that I have always known but never really thought too much about it. We need to be prepared. We need to always remember and be prepared. Just like the five who were prepared, we need to always do what is right and remember who we are and what we stand for. We are given commandments and need to follow them! I love serving here and all the people I get to meet each and every day!

Love,
Elder Pope

Cafe Rio receipt. The best place ever!
SAM_1788
The district. Next week it will be totally different Elders and Sisters except for three!
SAM_1787
Here are the pictures for service from Tuesday. Yeah, let’s just say we like to have some fun when we work!
DSCN0059
DSCN0061

Leave a Reply

