Week 62 – Reppin’ in the Golden State

What’s up family and friends? How was your week this week? Well, here in California the weather is getting pretty warm. It has been between the high 70’s and the low 80’s. All of the blossoms have fallen off of the trees and now my allergies are going crazy, which isn’t fun!

I want to give a big shout out to my favorite blonde sister in the entire world! I can’t believe she is already 24! She has been such a great example in my life and it is always fun watching her coach softball. She is a great coach and a great leader. Happy Birthday, Nat! I love you!

This week Elder Silva and I have been focused on finding people. We have to find people before we can teach people. That is one of the hardest parts of missionary work. At least here! Well, we got a referral from a member this week and visited him last night. His name is Ramal and he has 14 kids! He is only 44 and yes, they are all his. None of them are adopted. He told us that and we all laughed. We talked to him about the Book of Mormon and it went really well. We gave him the book and he started reading it right away while we were talking with his friend. Ten minutes later and he said he already loved the book! He said he is looking forward to reading it. It was great to get to know him better. He said if he ever sees someone giving us a hard time or trying to beat us up he will help us. He said, “Just call up ‘your boy’ and I will be there.” Oh, and did I forget to say that he is a BIG black guy? He told us to call him our black friend. He is super awesome and that is a little bit about him.

This week we helped the Wynn’s move to their new house. It is so sad to see them go. There are a few pictures below of us moving them and having some fun. You find the coolest things when you help people move. It is also pretty cool when they give it to you! We got some pretty cool hats out of it that we wore proselyting!

I had the opportunity to interview a lady to be baptized this week. It was such a special opportunity to talk with her and get to know her. Her name is Shangrung Chen. She is from China and is an amazing lady. She and her husband were legally married on Thursday night, then I interviewed her to be baptized on Friday morning, and she was baptized on Saturday. Yeah, let’s just say it was a close one! She was so excited for her baptism and she has such a strong testimony of the gospel. We were able to attend her baptism on Saturday morning and it was amazing. The spirit was so strong and everything went so well! During her baptism they showed the Mormon Message “The Hope of God’s Light.” It is such an amazing video that really touched my heart and I know it will touch all of your hearts as well!

The scripture for this week is 2nd Peter 1: 5-8. In short it says, “diligence to virtue, virtue to knowledge, knowledge to temperance, temperance to patience, patience to godliness, godliness to brotherly kindness, and brotherly kindness to charity.” This is the formula to progression. If we will do these things, we will grow closer to our Savior Jesus Christ and continue our progression on the earth. I love learning so much on my mission. I have seen what the gospel can truly do to you if you are open and ready to make a change. If we are open and willing to make the changes necessary, God will help us become better.

Love,
Elder Pope

Elder Silva and I ran to the Wynn’s house because my bike was in the bike shop. Let’s just say biking is totally different than running. It was also like 100 degrees outside!
SAM_1767
A few things that we found when we were helping the Wynn’s move. This mask is one of the coolest things I have ever seen. I was surprised it fit my massive head because it is like the real deal!
SAM_1779
Happy St. Patrick’s Day! We had a party!
SAM_1776
SAM_1777
Here is a picture of the hats we found at the Wynn’s. They didn’t want them anymore so we scored some free hats!
SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES
Elder Silva and I decided to make some food last night! He made biscuits and gravy and I made snicker doodles. They were pretty good!
SAM_1778

Leave a Reply

