Week 60 – Happy Birthday Mom!

Hola mi familia y mi amigos. Como estan ustedes?

I want to first start off by saying Happy Birthday to my Mother! Today is her birthday and you all should wish her a Happy Birthday because she is super awesome! I am so grateful for my mom and all that she does for me. I hope that my future wife will be just like her!

So the weather here is finally starting to warm up! Well, at least we thought so. It seemed to be summer a few days ago and then yesterday it was like 40 degrees the whole day. It was freezing! It is going to be a really hard adjustment when I come home to a bunch of snow but I miss the snow like crazy so I won’t complain! The blossoms are still on the trees and I forgot to take a picture of them again, but maybe this next week.

Yesterday at church was super awesome. When church was over we were walking down the hall and I saw Connie Goeckeritz! It was so awesome to see he and see Toby Goeckeritz. For all of you who don’t know who Connie is, they are long family friends and one of her sons lives in Ripon. It is the ward right next to ours. It was super weird to see someone from back home but it was also super awesome to talk with them. I love the gospel and I think it is so awesome that wherever you go to church anywhere around the world they are teaching the same thing. That is one major thing that I love about this church and this wonderful gospel. It is the same wherever you go!

This week we had a great lesson with James! It was super awesome because we got the Stake President to come with us on a team up this week. His name is President Maxfield and he is a wonderful person! We taught about the Restoration and it went really well. It was so awesome to have such an awesome team up. President Maxfield was able to bare his testimony and teach about a third of the time, which was great. James said he isn’t ready just yet but we know it will just take some time until he gets baptized. It really seems like with a lot of people it will just take some time until they are ready for that next step. The spirit was so strong in the lesson. We were also able to teach our investigator Marianne this week. We read 2 Nephi 31 with her and talked a little bit about baptism. We had to hurry out because we had a dinner appointment but she said she is going to pray about whether or not she should be baptized, which is great! She is really awesome and a super sweet lady.

This week we had a zone conference with the North half of our mission. It was mainly focused on the Atonement and Repentance. I love the Atonement so much. One thing that really stood out to me during the meeting were the R’s of Repentance. There is Recognize, Remorse, Restitution, and Repent. These are a few of the R’s that I know we have to do to Repent. One of the R’s that I never thought about in this context is the Redeemer. You cannot Repent without your Redeemer. This is all able to happen because of our Savior and Redeemer, Jesus Christ. Without the Atonement we have no purpose on this earth. It is only through Him that we can return to live with our eternal family again!

So this week we had a few service opportunities with the food bank and with helping out few members. We helped Brother Cortez saw some of his wood and split some of his logs. Don’t worry everybody. They only let me use the ax a few times and no, I didn’t cut my foot open again. It was pretty funny because I had to redeem myself and show them that I wasn’t going to cut off my foot. Brother Cortez laughed when he heard about me cutting my foot. We also helped at the Methodist Food Bank. It is so awesome and we have come to be such great friends with them. They are such wonderful people!

I finished the Book of Mormon this week for the second time on my mission where I was just reading it through cover to cover and studying it. One scripture that I really like is Moroni 10:32. I am not sure if I have shared it before but I just read it again yesterday. I love this scripture and how we truly need to come unto Christ. We need to do all we can to come unto our Savior. I know that it is after all that we can do, His grace will make up for the rest. Some people ask, “What is all that you can do?” It is an answer you need to find out for yourself from God. I love this gospel and am so grateful I get to serve here at this time in my life!

Love,
Elder Pope

We had dinner with Brother Cortez. After dinner he gave us these wonderful treats. He makes them for every new missionary in the area or for special occasions. You might remember the picture of me when it was my first time having dinner there.
SAM_1719
SAM_1718
This is a picture of us helping Brother Cortez split the wood and help with his backyard.
SAM_1720
SAM_1727
They got this super cute husky! It has so much energy and is so fun to play with!
SAM_1746
Brother Cortez called us up and fed us some Menudo. It is the second time I have had it. It is pretty good, I guess!
SAM_1748

Leave a Reply

