Week 55 – New Schedule!

Hey everybody! I hope you all had a wonderful week wherever you are! This week was a pretty great week! The weather was super nice and super sunny. I guess it is supposed to rain this next Wednesday so we aren’t looking forward to that. Elder Beus and I are doing awesome and having a great time being companions.

We had dinner with three part member families this week. In the first family, the husband is not a member and has been taught by missionaries for the past few years; he isn’t ready to be baptized yet. The second family we had dinner with is the Manuleleuas. Lets just say that they make killer food! Anyone with that kind of last name usually does! They are super awesome. We are teaching their 16 year old son and their 18 year old daughter (who the YSA Sisters are supposed to teach but she likes us better – I wonder why. Haha!). It is going great though. They are super awesome and we even got both of them to come to church yesterday, which was awesome. They said that they really enjoyed it and will be back next week. The third family we had dinner with was the Dyrda family. They took us to get sushi on Friday night. We basically crashed their date but they invited us so hey! It was lots of fun and sushi is amazing if you get the right stuff! We are great friends with them now, so now we just need to help him understand this wonderful Gospel and how important it is in our lives.

This last Wednesday we had a big meeting. All of the missionaries from our mission gathered together in one building. It was for a worldwide devotional. I bet most of you have already heard, but yes our schedule got changed and yes it is awesome! We now have two more hours on preparation day (P-day) to do things. We now have an hour and a half to get ready in the morning and an hour and a half at night to “prepare for bed.” So now in the mornings I get to take a 45 minute nap, which is awesome. Any extra sleep that a missionary gets is much needed sleep. It will take time to get used to it but it will be awesome when we do!

On Friday we had President’s interviews. It is always so much fun. A bunch of missionaries get nervous but President Palmer is an awesome person. He always cracks me up whenever I talk with him. We had a great conversation and I love him to death. He helps make missionary work fun. It is really just as important that you be yourself around people. It seems like people really love you more when you are yourself. People really notice when we act like robots. We are here to teach people about Jesus Christ but we are also here to have fun. There is no need to be anything but ourselves. It just makes the work even “more fun” (because I guess “funner” isn’t a word).

We have been really trying to tract and find new people. We have a few meetings with people this week. It seems like each week we have more meetings with people. Some of them fall through but we just need to keep our heads up and try again next week. We are on the Lord’s errand and everything happens for a reason. Just because something doesn’t go our way doesn’t mean it is the end of the world. We need to stay positive and keep pushing forward. The homeless people like to throw rocks at us when we bike. It is pretty funny because we will try to teach them but they won’t let us talk, then when we bike off they try throwing rocks at us. Notice the key word here is “TRY!” It is a good thing that they have had bad aim so far.

The scripture I want to share with you all this week is 1 John 4:8. Our district meeting this week was all about love. Everything comes down to love when you think of it. Love is also a commandment that we need to follow! Even though it is hard to love some people, we need to be like the Savior and love everyone like He did. I love all of you and all that you do for me. I feel all of your prayers and know if it weren’t for you guys I wouldn’t be where I am now. Thank you all for all you do!

Love,
Elder Pope

Lunch after district meeting. It is always fun when you are with a bunch of missionaries!
sam_1593
Elder Beus and I preparing for President’s interviews!
sam_1604
So…they convinced me that these don’t bite and when they do it doesn’t hurt. My face is the way it is because it had just turned its head and was looking at my ear like it was something good to eat. Kinda scary. Just so you know, these things do bite. They told me after the fact so man am I lucky!
sam_1610
I held it! You betcha. These things are pretty scary. I don’t think I could sleep if one of these lived in a cage inside of my house. No, thank you!
sam_1611
This morning for preparation day we hit up the BMX bike park. I guess you could say we had a little fun! We had the four missionaries from our ward come and have some fun. I never knew how tiring it is to bike around a full track!
sam_1614sam_1618
Who is diggin the new suit? I saw it and I couldn’t pass it up! In the second picture I am trying to act like the model on the page. Let’s just say it should be me instead of that guy. Haha!
sam_1621sam_1620

Leave a Reply

