Week 51 – Happy 2017!

I hope all of you are enjoying this new year. It seems like 2016 just flew right by! I am excited for what this year has to bring! It is so crazy that I only have one year left on my mission.

This week was a pretty awesome week! We picked up a new investigator that we are pretty excited about! It is a part-member family – the Dyrda’s. We had dinner with them this week and were able to teach them! She served a mission ten years ago. They have been married for just under a year and he is interested in the gospel. They are really awesome and told us that whenever we don’t have a dinner to call them and they will take us out to dinner! We are going to start meeting with them once a week, hopefully!

This week I had the opportunity to go on exchanges with Elder Schultz. He is a really funny guy and a great missionary. We were able to contact a lot of people and do some service. We helped Brother Cortez (one of our cool members) with some service. We helped him take down a wire gazebo with trees all over it. It was a lot of fun! We then took him out to dinner at Chili’s because we had 75 dollars in gift cards to there! He was really happy that we helped him. He gives us rides all over the place so we figured we would take him to dinner. It was lots of fun!

Elder Beus and I are staying in Northland again! It is super fun to be companions with him! We always have a good time. The members here have really been helping us. They are opening up a lot and giving us people to go and visit. We have to split up our dinner calendar now so only two of the missionaries can go to a dinner. All four of us can’t go to a dinner together anymore. They want us to get into more houses, which is a great idea! We are excited to do it!

For New Year’s we went to a family’s house and played cards with them and ate lots of food! It was pretty fun to be with the other two missionaries and with the members. We played Five Kings. Not sure if any of you have played it but it is a pretty fun game. We also taught them Scum. That game never gets old especially when you beat everyone!

As missionaries, we have been challenged by our Mission President to read Jesus the Christ. As I have been reading it I have gained a lot more knowledge about Jesus Christ. I have learned a lot about the Atonement. It is only through our Savior, Jesus Christ that we can be saved. Because of Him we can return to live with our Heavenly Father again. Today is the one year mark of my Grandma Pope’s passing. She is missed so much! She was a wonderful lady. We all have challenges in our lives that we need to learn from them and grow. Her passing was a trial in my life. It made me want to serve a mission even more. I am grateful that families can be together forever. How lucky we are to know the Plan of Salvation! I hope you all have a wonderful year this year! Live life to the fullest!

Love,
Elder Pope

This is the picture from the service project we did for Brother Cortez.
sam_1493
#WhiteGirlStatus We got Brother Cortez to take us to Starbucks after dinner. It was pretty bomb!
sam_1497
Go Courgars! I love all of the BYU stuff I got for Christmas!
sam_1503
Elder Beus and I made a ping pong table in our apartment. Let’s just say that we have a good time! We also keep putting up lights all around our apartment, so it is super awesome!
sam_1505
Elder Beus and I were street contacting and we came across a park. We had to make sure that there wasn’t anybody on the top of the park that we could teach about Jesus Christ. It is a five story park. We are about 30 feet up in this picture. It was pretty awesome!
sam_1499
Elder Beus and I also had to test out the park to see if it is safe for kids! It is safe. I think that I would make a great bull rider because I totally nailed it when I was riding the horse.
sam_1506sam_1509

Leave a Reply

