Week 36 – Follow The Promptings

This week was a fantastic week! Elder Powell and I committed the Tangle family (mother and son) to be baptized this week and they said YES!!! They are going to be baptized on October 6th! We are super excited for them! We knew that if worked with all of our 45 part-member families that at least one family would be ready to hear the gospel and be baptized!

We decided that every week we are going to hold basketball and invite our investigators and others who want to play. On Saturday we had a few people show up but we are hoping for a bigger turn out this next Saturday. Yesterday we were biking passed a park and saw these two guys playing basketball. We stopped and talked with them. We ended up playing basketball and invited them to basketball on Saturday! We are hoping that they will show up and we can teach them more about the gospel and Jesus Christ.

This week we had a zone conference with half of our mission. We talked about following the promptings of the spirit and what we can do to feel the spirit more often in our lives. I learned so much! Since I have been on my mission, I have felt the spirit so strong in my life. I have felt it tell me when something is good and when I should stay away from a certain experience. I know that if we will live worthily and always act as Christ would, then we will feel the promptings of the spirit more fully in our lives.

This week we only did one service project. It was super crazy because we usually do more, but we have a few signed up for this next week so we are excited for them. Something that is pretty cool right now is the harvest for the almonds. I never knew how they got the almonds off of the tree. We were on our way to do service and saw this thing with a big arm. It is called a “shaker.” Shakers go up to a tree and shake it for like 15 seconds. It was super interesting to watch. I have always heard that money doesn’t grow on trees. Well, I am here to tell you all that you are wrong. Almonds grow on trees and they are worth a lot of money! So therefore money grows on trees!

The scripture for this week is Mosiah 3:19. I really love this scripture because it talks about the natural man and how we need to put it off. We need to allow the spirit to come into our lives and if we are being the natural man then it won’t be with you. We need to always act as Jesus did and not how the natural man acts. I am so happy I made the decision to serve a mission. I am so grateful for all of the blessings that come from it. I know that this is where Heavenly Father wants me to be in my life right now! Sharing the gospel is the best!

Love,
Elder Pope

Eating dinner with Brother Jones after we did service for him. He is an awesome guy!
sam_1121
Basketball on Saturday morning!
sam_1125
Elder Simms and I hanging out today!
sam_1134

Leave a Reply

