Week 35 – Members Are Always Important

Well, this week was a super awesome week! We were super busy the entire week. We did five service projects and we were able to see all of our investigators!

This week we had the opportunity to do some service for some members! It is super crazy because it feels like the beginning of most days we are doing service for someone. On Tuesday we did service at Community Sharing, like usual. On Thursday we helped stack a moving truck. On Friday we emptied the moving truck and helped a lady mow her lawn and pull her weeds. On Saturday we finished moving Sister Akers into her new house, helped shovel some dirt for a less active member, and mowed an almond orchard. So our week was full of service!

We were able to teach our investigator, Pat. She really loves this gospel but wants to read the Book of Mormon all the way through before she gets baptized. She is in the middle of Alma right now so we are going to go over to her house three times a week and read with her to keep her going and motivated. Please pray that she will read the Book of Mormon. She is ready to be baptized! We were also able to teach the Tangle family. The son really wants to be baptized but the mom doesn’t right now. The son wants to get baptized with the mom so it is kind of hard. I guess it will happen at the right time!

This week we had an awesome zone training! It was on finding people. Elder Powell and I were able to give a training on “talking with everybody.” It is very important that we always talk with everybody. Regardless of whether or not they accept the gospel, you can always leave a touch point with them. I love talking with everyone! Since I came on my mission, I have really loved talking with lots of different people here! One thing that also stood out to me from the training was “the importance of members.” Without members, missionary work for missionaries is really hard. It is really important that the members help the missionaries in any way that they can. Don’t ever be afraid to share the gospel with your friends. I have seen way too many people here who won’t tell their friends that they are members. They don’t want to ruin their relationships with others. If it ruins your relationship then they are not true friends.

The scripture for this week is Isaiah 41:10. I really love this scripture. As I was reading this week I came across this scripture and I feel like everybody needs to know this. Everything happens for a reason and in those times that we are down, always remember that Jesus will always be with us. Jesus is always there helping us through our times of need. He loves each and every one of us. Jesus is our savior and redeemer. I am grateful for Jesus Christ and all that he has done for me and will do for me. I sure hope that all of you are well! I love you all! Have a wonderful week!

Love,
Elder Pope

Me in my natural habitat. Just kidding! I got to smash boxes so they told me to climb in and jump around. It was pretty awesome. I even did a flip into the trash can off of the top!
sam_1098
The crew helping Sister Akers move.
sam_1102
Going back the second day to help her move into her new house!
sam_1105
Today we went to the driving range and it was super fun!
sam_1110
sam_1112

Leave a Reply

