Week 34 – Families Can be Together Forever

What is up family and friends? I know I say this every week but I can’t believe another week has gone by! Like holy crap, everything out here goes by way too fast. You feel like you just woke up and then you are getting ready for bed. I guess when you are super busy time flies.

This week we ran into some anti-Mormons. It was really interesting. All we could do was testify. The sad part is that their family used to be Mormon. They had a son on a mission and the family found some anti-Mormon material and left the church. The dad went and picked up his son from his mission and brought him home. It is so sad to see that happen to a family. The one thing that people can’t take from us is our testimony. People can take everything from us except our testimony. If we keep our testimony strong then we can never be shaken!

We were able to visit a lot of less active members this week. We were able to commit a few of them to come to church. A few showed up and a few didn’t. We have been working with a few of the part member families. We have a meeting set up to meet with a family tonight. The son just turned 12 and we are hoping to get him and his mom on date for baptism tonight! Please pray for them. Their name is the Tangles. They are a family who is ready to be baptized. We were supposed to meet with them twice last week but things came up and they had to cancel the appointments.

We helped a less active man this week. We made some fresh chile verde and some mole. It was super awesome to help and to be able to take some home! The chile verde is super good on eggs and anything! I am going to be great at making salsa when I get back home!

The scripture for this week is Alma 7:11-13. This is one of my favorite scriptures to share about the Atonement whenever we talk about it. The Atonement is one of my favorite things to share with people. Everybody needs to hear about it! The Atonement is real and we all need to use it in our lives! I know that if it weren’t for the Atonement then we would have no reason to be on this earth. Because of the Atonement we are able to be cleansed from sin. And, because of the Atonement we are able to be resurrected again just as Jesus was!

Love,
Elder Pope

We went and visited a less active woman. I saw her electric chair and told her I have always wanted to ride one of those. She got super happy and told me to go and drive it around in the parking lot! It was super awesome but super funny at the same time! Elder Powell told me we should get those and proselytize in them. It was fun and all but I would hate to sit in one of those all day!
sam_1043
We went and did service for Community Sharing again! Doing service is so awesome!
sam_1047
The other missionaries came over for lunch. Elder Powell and I got a free rope from a member “because it is Cowboy Capital of the World.” She wanted us to always remember here. We roped Elder Owens and hog tied him. Just so you know, I am going to be on a roping team when I come home.
sam_1050
Elder Simms and I tied Elder Powell and Elder Owens together! It was super funny! Cowboy Elder Pope is coming along!
sam_1055
This is some more service that we were able to do. We went and brushed some horses and helped them move hay! I have never been the biggest fan of horses but they are super awesome! I really like horses now.
sam_1077
Picture taken at district meeting! Our district is super awesome!
sam_1078
I hope you all have fun partying with the Hylands while we play a super fun game! It is called “Pirates” and it is super awesome!
sam_1097

Leave a Reply

