Week 25 – Happy 4th!

This week we were able to do about 15 hours of service! Service is so wonderful! My favorite service project we did was help a less active member of our ward put in a new mail box. We help her by doing a service project every week and she always has more for us to do! She is trying to sell her house and everyone kept commenting on how crappy her mail box was. She has wanted to change it for about three years now but couldn’t find anyone to do it. Her mail box was too big and she couldn’t find the right size bottom to fit it. Thanks to my dad, I learned how to “jimmy rig” things together before my mission. She had some wood lying around, so I cut it up and drilled it in all different ways. When I was finished, we tried it and “Wala!” It was a perfect fit! She was so happy when we were done. All she could say is, “It is so beautiful!” Service is so wonderful and it is so great to see how it effects people in just a short amount of time.

One of my favorite hymns is #335. I have been thinking about it a lot. When I arrived in Modesto, President Palmer said for all of the missionaries to always have a hymn that they are thinking of. If you ever have a bad thought or something comes to your mind that you want gone, just think of the hymn that you have studied. I have studied “Brightly Beams Our Father’s Mercy”(#335). I really love this hymn. It talks about how we need to be the lower lights on a light house. A light house has the big light on top but it also has lower lights on the bottom. When a ship comes in from sea, they have to get lined up with the lower lights and with the upper light. Once they are in line with both, they know they are coming in the safe way. If they are not exactly lined up with both, then they will not be on the safest pathway and it can be really dangerous. Jesus Christ is the big light on top and we are the lower lights. We are to help direct people to Jesus Christ and help them find the fullness of the everlasting gospel! In the chorus of the hymn it says, “Let the lower lights be burning; send a gleam across the wave. Some poor fainting, struggling seaman You may rescue, you may save.” We are the lower light. We can rescue people that are struggling and help them get back on the straight and narrow path! This is why I am serving a mission. There are those lost seaman out there and we need to save them. We need to bring them back to what they know is right! I challenge you all to find and study a hymn, so when are down or have a bad thought go through your mind you can think of a hymn!

This week I am especially grateful to live in such a wonderful country. We are so lucky that Jesus Christ made such a wonderful place under the direction of God. I am proud to be an American! The scripture for this week is Ether 2:12. I feel like it is an appropriate scripture for today! I am so grateful to serve my mission here in California! I know this is where God wants me to be and there are people that I am supposed to see here. I love you all so much! Be safe and thank you all for the prayers. I feel each and every one of your prayers.

Love,
Elder Pope

We rode up on one of the very few hills, so we decided to take a picture. There are actually hills here and it isn’t completely flat!
SAM_0767
Sister Akers’ mail box that we fixed for her and gave a whole new remodel. Best one on the block now!
SAM_0775
Fourth of July party this morning!
SAM_0782
Mowing a less active member’s lawn for him! Good old Danny Jones!
SAM_0779

Leave a Reply

