Week 13 – Grandes Aventuras de Elder Papa

This week was great!

This week Elder Jarvis and I have really been praying to find some new investigators. We made a goal to get at least two new investigators. We have been teaching Derek and it was funny because we went over and invited everyone who wanted to learn more about Jesus Christ to come and join. Derek was just there, then another boy named Dominique comes in. We start teaching, then Ryan comes in so we start over. We are like five minutes into our lesson and Joseph comes in. We then say, “Who ever is going to come in, come in now!” Then Damion (the guard) comes in to listen as well. We taught them about the Restoration and it went amazing. We got four new investigators from it and we are going over again this Wednesday! We went by Saturday night and talked with Derek and Dominique for about fifteen minutes. They are reading the Book of Mormon and praying, which is awesome. We are trying our best to bring them unto the waters of baptism!

We found Leon last week. We taught him this week and he was acting pretty weird. We asked him if he remembered what we had just taught him and he said, “No.” We found out he is so addicted to drugs that he can’t go without them for more than an hour. It is really sad to see such a great person be so addicted to drugs. He managed to come to church yesterday, which was pretty amazing. I sat next to him and he had to leave with ten minutes left in sacrament meeting. It was amazing he was able to make it to sacrament meeting, but we are still trying to help him out!

This last Priesthood session I learned a lot about using the Priesthood power. It reminded me of the time I gave Abraham Avina a blessing a few weeks ago. He had fallen off a ladder and landed on some metal, so his back was all messed up. While at family home evening, he asked for a blessing. He could barely walk and he couldn’t stand up without getting help from us. He asked me if I would give him a blessing. I was able to give him a blessing and after the blessing he just sat there with tears running down his face. He then said how he got a super warm feeling and how his back felt like it was brand new again. I then put my hand out to help him up and he said, “NO! I can do it myself!” He then stood up out of the chair like nothing had happened. It is amazing the things you can do with the priesthood. I will always be thankful to hold the priesthood and the wonderful things we can do with it!

This last Friday was Esther Avina’s funeral. It was amazing. I am not the biggest fan of funerals, but they really make you think about what life is after this earth. I am so thankful that we have the Plan of Salvation. Her funeral really reminded me of my Grandma Pope’s, right before my mission. We really miss the people who have left us, but for their family that is already there it is a great time. It is never a goodbye, it is just a see ya later.

I am grateful for this gospel and to know that families can be together forever! There was a scripture I came across that I really love – D&C 112:10! Check it out! I love you all so much and am grateful for all of you! Keep up the good work in all that you do!

Love,
Elder Pope

Service project we did this week for a less active member.SAM_0361
We had lunch at some other elders’ apartment and it was super fun! It is always a fun time going to other apartments and just hang out and eat! “God Squad”IMG_9699

Leave a Reply

