Week 5 – First Month Down

This week we were able to do two different service projects. The first one we were able to do for a less active member whose name is Brother Mallory. He is a really cool guy who wants to build a “fallout shelter.” For two hours we helped him dig a hole in his backyard. The second service project we did was for an older Spanish member who had to cut down her tree. So we cut down her tree and organized the wood. It was actually really fun! That project took us two days. You know, just cutting down some trees. Good thing I didn’t cut off my leg like I did with the axe! Plus, chainsaws are a lot more fun than using an axe anyways!

Today we were able to go to a flea market for the first time and it was awesome! I have never seen so much crap in one place in my entire life. I bought a sweet knife that was 15 bucks! Flea markets are really cool and there is one every Monday so we are probably going to go every once in a while.

This week we were able to teach a few of our investigators and even got one to commit to be baptized on March 5th! His name is Anthony. Anthony is engaged to a girl who is a member and he wanted to learn more about the church. This was the second time we have taught him and we knew he was ready to be baptized.

We have two baptisms on the 27th and I am really excited. My companion and I think it will be us that baptizes them because the dad hasn’t received the Aaronic Priesthood yet. I love the two Sutton boys. They have a petting zoo that their mom runs and takes the animals to parties and things like that. They have a fainting goat and we tried for like 15 minutes to get it to faint but we didn’t have any luck. Haha. They have a mini horse, mini pig, two different goats, ducks, bunnies, and chickens. We played with the goats and the horses, which was super fun!

Every night we have dinner with some family and all of the food we have had here has been pretty good. We also have team ups at night. It is when someone from the ward takes us around at night, which is really nice.

On Saturday we stopped at a food truck called Silvas right down the road from us. It was the first time we have eaten at this food truck and it was the best thing I have ever eaten! I also bought some pineapple empanadas which were so good! The food here is so good! We have eaten at Taco Bell three times since I have been here and every time we go someone pays for our food, which is really nice!

Well, I love you all so much! I am so grateful that I get to serve in the California Modesto Mission! I have learned so much since I have been here and I want to keep learning more! Always keep me in your prayers, please! Have a good week!

Love,
Elder Pope

SAM_0098SAM_0099SAM_0106SAM_0108SAM_0123SAM_0125SAM_0127SAM_0133SAM_0134SAM_0139SAM_0140

Leave a Reply

