Week 3 -1st Week in the Field

This week has been a really interesting week! I made it to Modesto safely. I was assigned a new companion. His name is Elder Jarvis. Just a little background info on him: He is from a town in Montana that is right by the Canadian border. The population of his town is 400. He told me that his graduating class was 17. I was like “Wow! That is tiny.” He is a 20 year old who has been on his mission for four months now. The other day was pretty funny. He was texting while riding his bike and ran into the back of a parked car. It was like the funniest thing I have ever seen. I helped him up and we looked at the car to make sure there was nothing wrong with it, which there wasn’t, but it was super funny!

I was assigned to the Turlock 4th Ward and they are awesome people. I love it here and it has been pretty nice. We have eaten dinner at a members home every night so far and the food here is pretty good! We had district meeting on Thursday and we ate at a food truck for lunch. It was the best mexican food I have ever had. The burritos are only five bucks and they are pretty big.

Everyday it is pretty hard to get into a house that isn’t a set appointment, but we usually teach two or maybe three lessons a day. They have only had four baptisms in the last six months and I got here and we have three this next month, which is super cool! We are teaching a family where the dad and the kids want to be baptized but the mom doesn’t. She isn’t sure and the dad won’t get baptized unless the mom gets baptized too. We have only been able to teach them once and hopefully we can keep teaching them. We just met two investigators the other day and we taught them a lesson this week and committed them to be baptized. Their names are Drew and Aiden. They are 10 and 12. Their family went inactive for 15 years but they are starting to come back to church now!

The other investigator that is getting baptized is Don. He is 53 and his wife is a member. He has been in two hit-and-runs and can’t remember a lot of things. He is getting baptized next Sunday and I am so excited for him! Oh, and one more thing…………………………………..I AM BAPTIZING HIM!! I am so excited to baptize someone.

All of the Elders are super cool here! I love being here. It was really hard to say goodbye to my MTC companion because we had really connected and had talked about everything. I am so grateful I get to serve a mission in Modesto (Turlock right now). Turlock is the nice part of Modesto so you don’t have to worry that much.

We figured out how big our area is. It is 4 miles by 7 miles and we get to bike. With the ward that we are in we don’t get a car, so it is kinda fun to bike everywhere but it would also be nice to have a car for things. Our apartment is 16 feet by 22 feet long. There is a bathroom, kitchen, closet, queen bed, twin bed, two dressers, and two desks. It is a small space but I really enjoy it. It is an apartment behind a house that is connected to a huge garage.

I love this gospel so much and am so happy I get to serve a mission here! I am so grateful that I have been able to see this gospel change peoples lives and mine as well. I can’t wait for Don’s baptism this next Sunday!! I will send pictures of it!

Oh, and thanks for the Valentines box. A little early but thanks for everything! Just word of advice: I don’t like skittles so quit sending them because I just have to give them away.

I am also super excited for the super bowl. Not like I can watch it or anything but I hope that the Broncos can beat the Panthers. Let me know how the game goes!

I love you all and am grateful for you. I have a family picture on my desk and I look at it everyday and am praying for you. Keep up the good work at home and I will keep up the good work here!

Love, Elder Pope

IMG_1789SAM_0070SAM_0071SAM_0072SAM_0073SAM_0074SAM_0075SAM_0077SAM_0078SAM_0080SAM_0081SAM_0083

Leave a Reply

